Putting It All Together – 1

Something that really stuck with me since I started the Book of Mormon class was a lesson we had very recently on The Atonement of Jesus Christ. The Atonement has been such a huge blessing in my life and I know it will only be more beneficial in my life the more I learn about it. It is so complex, yet so simple and such a wonderful gift from our Heavenly Father and our Savior, Jesus Christ.

“There is no sin or transgression, pain or sorrow, which is outside of the healing power of His Atonement” (C. Scott Grow of the Seventy). This quote really filled me with emotions once reading it. My whole life I’ve struggled with my own conscious of feeling guilty and hopeless, but I know that our Heavenly Father would not want us to feel that way. I have loved ones who have walked away from the Gospel due to an overwhelming amount of guilt that filled their lives, but I know that’s not God’s doing. Satan has a way of making us feel unnecessary guilt, but it’s through the Atonement where we can get rid of that guilt and be wiped clean of our sins in the eyes of our Heavenly Father. I’ve also learned, through my own trials and through influential people in my life, that the Atonement is something we should use everyday. The Atonement isn’t just for repenting of our sins, but it’s also something we can lean on when having a tough time or when needing guidance and/or direction.

Alma 7: 13-14 says: 13) “Now the Spirit knoweth all things; nevertheless the Son of God suffereth according to the flesh that he might take upon him the sins of his people, that he might blot out their transgressions according to the power of his deliverance; and now behold, this is the testimony which is in me.” 14) “Now I say unto you that ye must repent, and be born again; for the Spirit saith if ye are not born again ye cannot inherit the kingdom of heaven; therefore come and be baptized unto repentance, that ye may have faith on the Lamb of God, who taketh away the sins of the world, who is mighty to save and to cleanse from all unrighteousness.” This scripture really shows how great of a sacrifice our Savior made for us. When feeling overwhelmed with my daily tasks or specific struggles I’m having, I really like to turn to these verses just to remind myself of how amazing our Savior and His Atonement is.

The Atonement, in many ways, has been my rock. The Atonement has been, in many occasions, that little hope in my life that carries me through a rough day or trail. It’s also been something I lean on in good times as well, making sure I stay humble and to always remember what’s important. Our Heavenly Father is so merciful and I’m so thankful. If he didn’t sacrifice his only begotten son to atone for us, we’d have no way to return to live with our Heavenly Father. The Savior and His Atonement is my rock and my foundation to why I live and what I live for. His example and sacrifice keeps me going when the times get rough. I truly have such a huge testimony of The Atonement. I believe that everybody can return to live with our Heavenly Father through The Atonement. I believe that anybody carrying any sin, that has a broken heart and contrite spirit, can be forgive through Christ’s Atonement. I’m truly thankful for the blessing to have obtained the knowledge of The Atonement. I love my Savior with all my heart. And I say these things in the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

