Putting It All Together – 2

Lately, I’ve been really captured  by the topic of Repentance. During class, we really got into this subject and I’m glad we did. I think this topic is one of the most, if not the most, important subject of the Mormon religion.

In 3 Nephi 11 verse 32 it says, “And this is my doctrine, and it is the doctrine which the father hath given unto me; and I bear record of the Father, and the Father beareth record of me, and the Holy Ghost beareth record of the Father and me; and I bear record that the Father commandeth all men, everywhere, to repent and believe in me.”

This scripture alone, I think, really exclaims the important of repentance and coming unto Christ when doing so. Through Christ, we can be forgiven for anything. I truly believe that our Heavenly Father really is forgiving and that by choosing Christ and by striving to do our best each and every day, we can return to live with our Heavenly Father.

In Moroni 6 verse 7-8, it explains that we are not able to return to live with our Heavenly Father and not able to be in his presence as long as we don’t repent, but if we repent with real intent, no matter how many times we have to repent, we can be forgive. It says, “7) And they were strict to observe that there should be no iniquity among them; and whoso was found to commit iniquity, and three witnesses of the church did condemn them before the elders, and if they repented not, and confessed not, their names were blotted out, and they were not numbered among the people of Christ. 8) But as oft as they repented and sought forgiveness, with real intent, they were forgiven.” I love that scripture. God is truly a merciful God and that scripture really shows that.

“The gift of the Atonement of Jesus Christ provides us at all times and at all places with the blessings of repentance and forgiveness” (Elder Dieter F. Uchtdorf). By choosing Christ we all can be forgiven of our sins and transgressions. God wants the best for us all, I truly believe that. I also believe that we can be forgiven for anything! I believe that God has already forgiven us for everything we’ve already done and everything we will do; I don’t think we would all be here, living this life, if that wasn’t the case. But I do believe that we have to want to be forgiven and that we have to truly want change and to better ourself for the mercy of God to take place. If we give our all, Christ and his Atonement will take care of the rest. I truly believe that.

And I say these things in the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

